Drive File Stream Requires Your Approval Mac

admin

What is G Suite’s Drive File Stream? Drive File Stream is an application that runs on Windows or Mac that provide a cloud-centric implementation of Google Drive. In other words, it provides the same level of collaboration and access as Google Drive with the bonus of storing the documents in the cloud and streaming the contents to you rather than requiring you to maintain local copies that must be synced.

You can also select folders to be available offline and they will sync automatically when connected to the network.

Once installed on a Windows PC, Google File Stream will appear as Drive G: by default. You can right click files and folders within this drive, choose Drive File Stream, and then check whether or not you would like them available off-line.

Do I have access to it? Yes, Drive File Stream is available to all VT faculty, staff, and students.

How do I install it? Follow this link to install Drive File Stream - or - log into your Google Drive account, click the settings icon in the top right, and choose toGet Drive File Stream. (This works on both Windows and OS X.)

Drive File Stream Requires Your Approval Mac Address

Get the Drive File Stream Installation file Using Step 1 (in Step 1) above, open Google Drive in a browser At the upper right side of your Google Drive, click the settings cog icon: Click Download Drive file Stream for Mac/Windows (based on your computer) On the page that opens, click the button to Download for your Operating System. Drive File Stream is the recommended Google Drive client for faculty and staff on university computers. It is the business-oriented Drive client which provides full access to all files in your “My Drive” and “Shared Drives” from your Mac. Installing Google Drive File Stream. Open the Self Service app found in your /Applications folder. 'The system extension required for running Google Drive File Stream needs your approval before it can be loaded. Please open System Preferences Security & Privacy pane and allow loading system.


RELATED INFORMATION:

macOS User Guide

Permission settings determine who can view and alter files on the computer. You change permission settings at the bottom of the Info window for a file, folder or disk in the Finder. For example, you can change permission settings for a folder so that other users who log in to your Mac, or connect to it for file sharing, can view but not change files in a folder.

Assign permissions to users and groups

  1. On your Mac, select a disk, folder or file, then choose File > Get Info.

  2. If the information in Sharing & Permissions isn’t visible, click the arrow .

    If the lock at the bottom right is locked , click it to unlock the Get Info options, then enter an administrator name and password.

  3. Click a user or group in the Name column, then choose a privilege setting from the pop-up menu.

    • Read & Write: Allows a user to open the item and change it.

    • Read only: Allows a user to open the item but not change its contents.

    • Write only (Drop Box): Makes a folder into a drop box. Users can copy items to the drop box, but can’t open it. Only the owner of the drop box can open it.

    • No Access: Blocks all access to the item.

You can undo any changes to privilege settings for a user or group in the Sharing & Permissions section since opening the Info window. Before closing the Info window, click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Revert changes”.

Apply permissions to all items in a folder or a disk

  1. On your Mac, select a folder or disk, then choose File > Get Info.

    If the lock at the bottom right is locked , click it to unlock the Get Info options, then enter an administrator name and password.

  2. Click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Apply to enclosed items”.

Drive File Stream Requires Your Approval Mac Version

Change an item’s owner

  1. On your Mac, select the item, then choose File > Get Info.

    If the lock at the bottom right is locked , click it to unlock the Get Info options, then enter an administrator name and password.

  2. If the new owner’s name isn’t listed in the Name column in the Sharing & Permissions section, click the Add button to add the new owner.

  3. Select the new owner in the Name column, click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Make __ the owner”.

Drive File Stream Requires Your Approval Macbook Pro

You can undo any changes to an item’s owner in the Sharing & Permissions section since opening the Info window. Before closing the Info window, click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Revert changes”.

Add or remove a user or group in the Name column

  1. On your Mac, select an item, then choose File > Get Info.

    If the lock at the bottom right is locked , click it to unlock the Get Info options, then enter an administrator name and password.

  2. In the Sharing & Permissions section, do any of the following:

    • Add a user or group: Click the Add button below the list, select a user or group, then click Select.

    • Remove a user or group: Select the user or group, then click the Remove button below the list.

Drive File Stream Requires Your Approval Mac

You can undo adding or removing a user or group in the Sharing & Permissions section since opening the Info window. Before closing the Info window, click the Action pop-up menu , then choose “Revert changes”.

See alsoIf you’re asked for an administrator name and password on MacUse Touch ID on MacUse the Touch Bar on Mac